top of page

Meet Curious Birdy

When I first met Charissa, I had just begun Little Market Place. I was new to the fashion industry and was going in a little blind. She took me under her wing and oh boy has she been an asset ever since! Aside from being an amazing designer, she has helped style all of our LMP photoshoots, offered endless advice and introduced me to some incredibly creative people who continue to help me expand my business today. We could not wait to write a blog on her and now the wait is over! Meet Curious Birdy.

Tell me about your label Curious Birdy (Previously Birds on a Wire Fashion)

I have always said Curious Birdy is my girly alter ego; it’s the part of me that loves colour, crazy prints, pom poms and gets excited about cupcake frosting. We want to bring out every girls girly side and make you giggle in excitement over the perfect statement pieces. We want our customers to be curious about where there clothes are made and be curious in life, to go out and have an adventure in something that brings a smile to your face.

What made you want to start your business?

I was lucky enough to do work experience with some amazing labels and that one on one experience seeing how it all worked in a small business really inspired me to try my own thing!

What is the hardest part about running your own business?

For me one of the hardest things has always been work life balance, you either go from all business all the time to letting life intrude too much and not getting any more done! The concept of a 9 to 5 doesn’t exist for me!

Who was your first style icon?

I am not the kind of person who really has style icons, I try very much to avoid following trend and just design and wear what I love, but in saying that it would have to be Audrey Kitching (those who know who she is just laughed at the kind of person I must have been in highschool!), I to this day love her style and how its developed and of cause the dedication to pink hair!

When you can't think of anything to wear, what's your go-to outfit?

My Smothered in Frosting (donut print dress) and a leather jacket, for me it’s the perfect balance of girly and modern!

What is your favourite Little Market Place stall?

I might be a bit bias because a few stall holders are friends of mine! But my top three would be Geachi (for always being so cheerful and friendly) Barefingers and, Mountain and Moon

What should shoppers expect from your stall?

Colourful quirky designs, for the print loving girl. We are also excited to be selling bags from S Rush this market, which are magical glitter filled creations from Broom.

What is your favourite way to wind down after a big day at LMP?

About the only time I eat maccas is after market stalls or photoshoots, two of the most tiring hunger, cheese burger craving inducing things! After that tv, the couch and a cup of tea!

You can catch Curious Birdy at Little Market Place on ​​Sunday, 3rd April at the Fremantle Town Hall.

For more details on our next event, join our event here.

LMP. x

Photography by Olivia Logic


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Pinterest Basic Black
bottom of page